Maximum Help
Latest News
Gamer Zone
Computer Help
Contact Us
Gamer Zone > Modern Warfare 2 >
Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer - All about Prestige Mode and Ranks
Level Up & Ranks
As you play games online, you earn XP points. These add up and when they reach a certain level, you increase your rank. The table below shows how many points are needed to reach each rank. I have more to say on the subject, so I'll meet you on the other side of this rather long table ...
As you level up, if you go into Barracks from the main menu, you will see this:
Note that Prestige Mode is greyed out. This mode only becomes available when you have accumulated a certain amount of points (about 2,510,000). This means you have to reach level 70 and accumulate about another 75,000 points. I'm giving approximate figures. I've prestiged ten times, but that was about six months ago. If I ever prestige again (on a different ID) then I will post the exact figures here. But the figures are approximately correct.
Prestige Mode
So what exactly is Prestige Mode? And why would you want to enter it? Read on to find out.
If you choose to enter Prestige Mode, you will no longer be of the Commander Rank. You will be Rank 1 again i.e. Private 1. In other words, everything will be as it was when you first played this game. You will only have three default classes available to you and all the weapons and attachments you unlocked will be locked again.
So if you want that fancy weapon camoflauge for the Intervention, you will have to earn it all over again.
You do get to keep all the titles and emblems you have earnt before you prestiged. You also get a new title and emblem which illustrates the fact that you have prestiged. You can prestige a total of ten times in this game and you get new titles and emblems each time. See table below for more details.
Bragging rights
So why prestige? For a couple of icons ... is it really worth it? Well there's more to it than that. See the next section (custom classes).
The main reason for prestiging (for some people) is to show off. That you are so good that you can do it all over again until you reach level 10.
As mentioned above, everytime you prestige you get two new icons (a new title and emblem). So you can show these off on your in game name tag.
Extra Custom Classes
This is the reason I prestiged. Everytime you prestige on an odd number, you get an extra custom class. So you get an extra custom class the 1st time you prestige. Also, the 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th times. That makes a total of 5 extra custom classes meaning you have a total of ten custom classes altogether.
But once you reach level 9 prestige and get your ten custom classes, you might as well go all the way and prestige ten times, like I did.
So there you have it, everything you ever wanted to know about prestiging but were too afraid to ask ;-)
Gamer Zone > Modern Warfare 2 >
Ad Banner 1